Faculty Characteristics and Citations

Download 19.63 Kb.

Hajmi19.63 Kb.

Florida State University – Office of Institutional Research – ir.fsu.edu 

Faculty and Staff-69 

Faculty Characteristics and Citations





Of 1,723.4 filled FTE faculty positions (including College of Medicine), 27% hold the rank of Professor, 18.1% are Associate 

Professors, 16.7% are Assistant Professors, and 38.3% are other faculty. 


A total of 2,351 persons are appointed to either full-time or part-time positions on a faculty classification; 42.5% are female. 


The median age for tenured faculty is 56; the eldest of these is 79, the youngest is 34.  The median age for tenure-earning faculty is 

37; the eldest of these is 77, the youngest is 26. 92% of instructional faculty hold a doctoral, professional, or terminal degree. 


1,117 men and 789 women comprise Florida State University’s full-time staff whose primary responsibility is instruction, research 

and/or public service.  Minorities make up 20% of these 1,117 staff members. 75.6% are white and 4.4% are non-resident aliens. 


Ellen T. Zwilich (Music, 1983) and Robert Olen Butler (Fiction, 1993) are Pulitzer Prize winners on staff at Florida State University. 


Members of the National Academy of Sciences to Serve on Staff at Florida State University 

Lloyd M. Beidler, Biological Science 

Donald L. Caspar, Biological Science (Emeritus) 

Paul A. M. Dirac, Physics 

Zachary Fisk, Physics 

Lev P. Gor’kov, Physics  

Laura Greene, Physics (currently on staff) 

Louis N. Howard, Mathematics (Emeritus) 

Michael Kasha, Chemistry 

Harold W. Kroto, Chemistry  

Robert Sanderson Mulliken, Chemical Physics 

J. Robert Schrieffer, Physics (Emeritus) 

Melvin E. Stern, Oceanography 

J. Herbert Taylor, Biological Science 


Members of the National Academy of Engineering to Serve on Staff at Florida State University 

David Larbalestier, Superconducting Materials (currently on staff) 

Thomas Lipo, Engineering (currently on staff) 

Simon Ostrach, Engineering 


Members of the National Academy of Medicine to Serve on Staff at Florida State University 

Jill Quadagno, Gerontology (currently on staff) 

 Norman Anderson (currently on staff) 


Members of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences to Serve on Staff at Florida State University 

Roy Baumeister, Psychology (currently on staff) 

Lloyd M. Beidler, Biological Science 

Donald L. Caspar, Biological Science (Emeritus) 

Zachary Fisk, Physics 

Louis N. Howard, Mathematics (Emeritus) 

Frances James, Biological Science (Emeritus) 


Michael Kasha, Chemistry  



Alan Marshall, Chemistry (currently on staff) 

Simon Ostrach, Engineering  

J. Robert Schrieffer, Physics (Emeritus) 

Melvin E. Stern, Oceanography 

Joe Travis, Biological Science (currently on staff)  

Ellen T. Zwilich, Music (currently on staff) 

Lev Gor’kov - Foreign Honorary, Physics (currently on staff) 

Greg Boebinger, NHMFL (currently on staff)


Nobel Laureates to Serve on Staff at Florida State University 

Konrad E. Bloch, Human Sciences 

James  M. Buchanan, Economics 

Paul A. M. Dirac, Physics 

Harold W. Kroto, Chemistry  

Robert Sanderson Mulliken, Chemical Physics 

J. Robert Schrieffer, Physics (Emeritus)


John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation Fellowship Award Winners to Serve on Staff at Florida State University: 

1950 - Michael Kasha 

1955 - Raymond K. Sheline 

1957 - Orville Goodwin Harrold, Jr. 

1958 - François Bucher 

1961 - Louis N. Howard 

1961 - Arthur Deshaies 

1964 - Bruno Linder 

1966 - J. Robert Schrieffer  

1970 - Melvin Ernest Stern 

1974 - Bertram H. Davis 

1980 - Ellen T. Zwilich 

1983 - Michael Ruse 

1993 - Robert Olen Butler  

1994 - Jill Quadagno 

1994 - Donald L. D. Caspar 

1999 - Kathleen M. Erndl 

2000 - Richard L. Greaves 

2002 - John Kelsay 

2002 - Gary Taylor 

2003 - Thomas Joiner 

2003 - David Kirby 

2005 - Dale A. Olsen 

2005 - Mark Wingate 

2009 - Jawole Willa Jo Zollar 

2010 - Barbara Hamby 

2010 - Ladislav Kubik 

2013 - Bryan Cuevas 

2016 - James Kimbrell 

2017 - Antonio Mendez Esparza


Recent Fulbright Scholars to Serve on Staff at Florida State University: 

2015-16 - Piyush Kumar, Computer Science 

2015-16 - Owen Mundy, Arts 

2015-16 - Jean Munn, Social Work 

2015-16 - Giray Okten, Mathematics 




2015-16 - Margaret Wright-Cleveland, Literature 

2016-17 – Anke Meyer-Baese, Scientific Computing 

2015-16 - Rodney Roberts, Electrical Engineering   

          2016-17 – Rebecca Miles, Urban and Regional Planning 

2015-16 - Carol Weissert, Political Science                                         2016-17 – Iain Quinn, Music 



Source:  Office of Institutional Research; Office of Faculty Recognition


Do'stlaringiz bilan baham:

Ma'lumotlar bazasi mualliflik huquqi bilan himoyalangan ©fayllar.org 2017
ma'muriyatiga murojaat qiling