The united kingdom of great britain

Download 0.61 Mb.
Hajmi0.61 Mb.
  1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9
BT sirtqi 2 2 guruh talabasi Elbekova Muqaddas Ingliz tilidan CORSWORT1

O'zbekiston Respublikasi Oriental
BT-sirtqi 2-2 guruh talabasi Elbekova Muqaddas Ingliz tili CORSWORT


Great Britain

The United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland consists of four historical national regions: England, Wales, Scotland and Northern Ireland. A special regime was established for the Isle of Man and the Channel Islands.
Great Britain is located in the northwestern part of Europe, in the British Isles (the largest island of Great Britain, the northeastern part of the island of Ireland, the Isle of Man, the Channel Islands, many smaller ones: Hebrides, Shetland. , Orkney, etc.). Great Britain is washed by the Atlantic Ocean, seas - Northern and Irish, English Channel, Pas-de-Calais, North and St. George. The coastline is heavily indented by numerous inlets (fjords in the north and river estuaries in the south), forming the large peninsulas of Wales and Cornwall.
In the north and west, mountainous terrain dominates - the Scottish Highlands (the highest peak in Great Britain is Ben Nevis, 1343 m high), the South Scottish Highlands, the Pennine and the Cambrian Mountains. These mountain systems have plateau-like peaks and gentle slopes covered with vegetation. The eastern and southern parts of the country are occupied by hilly plains surrounded by rocky ridges (cuestas).
Great Britain has a large number of rivers, many of which are navigable and linked by canals. Among the largest rivers are Thames, Severn, Trent. There are many lakes in the north of the country, the largest being Loch Ney in Northern Ireland, Loch Ness and Loch Lomond in Scotland. The Lake District is located in the northwestern foothills of the Pennines.

Download 0.61 Mb.

Do'stlaringiz bilan baham:
  1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9

Ma'lumotlar bazasi mualliflik huquqi bilan himoyalangan © 2024
ma'muriyatiga murojaat qiling